Being charged with a DUI or DWI in Maryland is a serious offense, and you need help from a criminal lawyer near Annapolis. A DUI lawyer can make sure your legal rights are protected throughout the process. A criminal lawyer is also well-versed in state law and is often able to negotiate a plea deal with a prosecutor so you can avoid jail time. An aggravated DUI is an even more serious charge. Keep reading to find out why an aggravated DUI may be issued, the potential penalties you face, and how a conviction could harm your future.
An aggravated DUI is usually issued if law enforcement officials believe a Maryland driver has engaged in extremely reckless behavior. For example, aggravated DUIs are commonly charged if a drunk driver has an excessive amount of alcohol in their system, is transporting a minor, or causes a serious accident. An aggravated DUI can also be charged if you are a repeat offender, meaning you have a history of driving drunk.
With the heightened criminal charge come even stiffer penalties than normally accompany a DUI. If you are convicted, your aggravated DUI sentence may include a minimum six-month license suspension, a $500 to $1,000 fine, and up to a one-year jail sentence. On top of that, a judge can order you to undergo counseling or alcoholism treatment. Finally, you may have to have a device installed in your car that requires a breath test before you can start the ignition.
An aggravated DUI conviction can have even more long-term consequences than jail time. If you do not consult a criminal defense attorney and are convicted of an aggravated DUI, you can expect your insurance rates to skyrocket. Even worse, you will have a lasting criminal record, which can make it difficult to find a job or secure housing. Unfortunately, once you have a DUI conviction on your record, it is almost impossible to have it removed. It is essential to hire a criminal lawyer as soon as you have been charged so that they can help you protect your rights and get the best possible outcome from your DUI.
If you have been charged with DUI or DWI, you should discuss your charges with a DUI attorney in Annapolis as soon as possible. While a criminal charge is usually the result of being suspected of driving drunk, some drivers simply refuse to take a chemical (breathalyzer) test altogether. If you refuse to take a test verifying your blood alcohol or drug concentration, or if you elect to take the test and fail it, the police officer will confiscate your driverâs license. You then have the right to request a hearing with the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration, or MVA. You must request a hearing within 10 days of your DUI or DWI stop. It is important to read and understand all of the paperwork that you are given during and after your DUI or DWI stop. During the MVA hearing, an Administrative Law Judge will decide whether to suspend your license. You should make sure to bring an experienced criminal defense lawyer who regularly handles DUI cases so that your rights are protected while you stand before the judge.
Personal injury claims near Annapolis can be complex, and you need an experienced attorney who will fight for your right to compensation . If you have been hurt, you deserve to be paid damages. Damages can cover your current and future medical bills, loss of income, and emotional pain and suffering. With the right attorney, you can negotiate a high settlement with an insurance company and avoid a prolonged trial. Here is how to get the money you deserve after a personal injury.
Seek Medical Care
The first step to getting compensated justly is making sure you immediately seek medical care. When you meet with a doctor, never exaggerate your symptoms, but make sure to tell your physicians about all areas of pain. Your ailments and symptoms must be properly documented for an insurance company to pay for your care. It is also an important part of getting the best medical care possible and beginning your road to recovery.
Document Your Damages
Personal injury law firms advise clients to begin conducting an investigation and collecting paperwork before even meeting with an attorney. Make sure to gather and organize all witness statements, police reports, and medical records. You should also take photographs of your injuries and the accident scene. Remember, insurance companies have highly paid investigators working on their side. These documents will be essential to building the best case possible.
Consult an Attorney
Most people never think about personal injury law until they are hurt. But personal injury claims are extremely complex, and only an attorney who is well-versed in applicable state law and knows the court system can help you determine your best course of action. An insurance company will push you to settle without talking to a lawyer, but you need someone who will protect your rights throughout the process. A personal injury lawyer will evaluate your claim and review the police and medical reports before giving you an informed estimate of your caseâs value.
Negligence is an essential concept in personal injury law in Annapolis . Negligence refers to any conduct by a person or organization that falls below the standards established by law for the protection of others against unreasonable risk of harm.
In tort law, also known as personal injury, a plaintiff and her attorney are required to prove that the defendant owed a duty to the plaintiff. Next, the personal injury lawyer must show that the defendant breached that duty by failing to conform to the required standard of conduct, and that the negligent conduct caused harm to the plaintiff. This standard in personal injury law helps the court determine whether the defendant should be legally responsible for the victimâs injuries. If a reasonable person would have or should have done something different, there is a good chance the plaintiff will be compensated for her injury.